Montage of photos showing previous award winners throughout the years.

IET Awards - Achievement Medals

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

IET Achievement Medals


The IET Achievement Medals are awarded to individuals  who have made major and distinguished contributions in the various sectors of science, engineering and technology.

 The judging panel will look for outstanding and sustained excellence in one or more activities, for example, research and development, innovation, design, manufacturing, technical management, promotion of engineering and technology.  The medals in the collection include:

The IET Prestige Medals:

  • The Faraday Medal;
  • The Mountbatten Medal;
  • J J Thomson Medal for Achievment in Electronics;
  • Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal.


The IET Achievement Medals:

  • Up to six Achievement Medals are awarded for excellence in any area of engineering, technology or applied science.


How to nominate 

Nominations can be made by clicking onto the online nomination form on the right hand side. As part of the nomination process you will be requested to include a brief 'curriculum vitae' (CV) of the person you are nominating. We welcome nominations for women and men from around the world. You do not need to be a Member of the IET to make a nomination or be nominated. 

Please note only one nomination is required per candidate and self-nominations will not be accepted.


Related links

  •  If you are interested in nominating someone, please see the Candidate criteria guidance (PDF) document before completing the  nomination form.

Two of the 2014 winners

Image of Alfonso Farina

An Achievement Medal was awarded to Dr Alfonso Farina FIET, Senior Advisor to Chief Technology Officer, Selex ES, Rome, Italy for pioneering contributions to the theoretical development and practical application of innovative and robust adaptive signal, data and image processing techniques, for target detection, estimation, tracking, recognition and fusion in complex e.m. disturbance environments, to operational ground-based, naval, airborne and over the horizon (active and passive) radar systems on civilian, defence and security platforms.


Image of Keith Hayler An Achievement Medal was awarded to Keith Hayler FIET, UK in recognition of his contribution to UK and global broadcast engineering over a number of decades.  Specifically, his contribution to digital broadcast platforms; Digital Audio Broadcasting (DAB) and Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB).  

Two of the 2013 winners

Professor Barry Evans FIET photo

Ambrose Fleming Medal for Information and Communications was  awarded to Professor Barry Evans FREng FIET, Centre for Communication Systems Research, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences, University of Surrey, for an outstanding contribution towards telecommunication and information system engineering.  

Richard Sadler photo Coales Medal for Transport was awarded to Mr Richard Sadler HonDCL FIMarE FRINA, Chief Executive Officer, Lloyd’s Register Group, UK.  Founded in 1760, Lloyds Register is today a £900M global not for profit business. Appointed CEO in 2007, Richard Sadler possesses strategic and operational expertise in transportation and energy risk and safety management. He has expanded the company's scope and positioned it firmly as the world leader in its field.


Two of the 2012 winners

Image of Paul Kane
The Ambrose Fleming Medal for Information and Communications was awarded to Paul M Kane, Chairman and CEO of Community DNS, in recognition of his outstanding excellence in promoting innovative system design and delivering advanced technical management of information and communications services to the global Internet community.
Image of Dick Philbrick The Nuffield Silver Medal for Achievement in Design and Production was awarded to Dick Philbrick for his leadership and achievement in building a highly profitable export-led engineering company. He started Clansman Dynamics in 1994 and three years ago converted it into an employee owned business. The company specialises in foundry machinery and exports 95% of its production to 40 countries.


See also

More information on previous winners



2015 key dates


Achievement Medal Nominations:
29 May 2015, 17:00 (BST)


The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony:
18 November 2015, 13:00 (GMT)

Submit an Achievement Medal nomination

2015 online nomination form


Related links

Candidate criteria guidance (PDF)



IET Achievement Medal leaflet (PDF)

IET Achievement Medal Fact Sheet


See also

2014 Press release

Previous Winners