Montage of photos showing previous award winners throughout the years.

IET Awards

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Faraday Medal


The IET Faraday Medal was established to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the first Ordinary Meeting of the Society of Telegraph Engineers.

It is the most prestigious of the IET Achievement Medals and is awarded either for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering or for conspicuous service rendered to the advancement of science, engineering and technology or for lifetime achievement in science, engineering or technology. The Award is made without restriction as regards nationality, country of residence or membership of the IET. 

Recipients of the award are chosen by the IET Awards and Prizes Committee and are endorsed by the IET Knowledge Management Board. 


How to nominate 

Members and Non members of the IET are invited to propose the names of men and woman from around the world  to be considered for the award of the Faraday Medal. Nominations can be made by clicking onto the online nomination form on the right hand side. Proposals should be accompanied by brief biographical information, a short statement of the grounds on which the nomination is made and a brief 'curriculum vitae' (CV) of the person you are nominating.  

Please note only one nomination is required per candidate and self-nominations will not be accepted.


Related links

  • If you are interested in nominating someone, please see the Candidate Criteria Guidance (PDF) document before completing the nomination form.


2013 winner 

Professor Sir Michael Pepper photo Professor Sir Michael Pepper FREng FRS, Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London, UK, has been awarded the Faraday Medal for pioneering the basic and applied physics of advanced semiconductor structures. Building on his use of devices for investigating electron transport in disordered systems, he pioneered the physics of semiconductor nanostructures introducing techniques now used worldwide in proposed quantum information systems.


2012  winner

Image of Dr Leonardo Chiariglione Dr Leonardo Chiariglione has been awarded the Faraday Medal in recognition of his pioneering contribution to the standardisation of the digital compression and encoding technique known as MPEG - Movie Picture Expert Group.   This is extensively employed for digital video and media compression and has enabled the modern digital media revolution. From digital video broadcast, to web content downloads to social networking, MPEG technology is now part of the everyday life of billions of people around the world.


2014 key dates


Deadline for Achievement Medal nominations:
30 May 2014, 17:00 (BST)


The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony:
19 November 2014, 17:00 (GMT)



Submit an Achievement Medal nomination

2014 Online nomination form 


Related links

Candidate Criteria Guidance (PDF)



IET Achievement Medal leaflet (PDF)


See also

Previous winners