Montage of photos showing previous award winners throughout the years.

IET Awards

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

About the IET Achievement Medals


The IET Achievement Medals programme recognises individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of science, engineering and technology in any sector or activity within the scope of the IET, this includes emerging technologies, either through research and development in their respective technical field or through their leadership of an enterprise.

Has someone you know made an outstanding contribution to their respective field of work?  Help us to recognise the talents of young professionals through to individuals who are at the pinnacle of their careers. Nominate them for an IET Achievement Medal.


We provide awards for all career stages across a wide range of industry sectors:


Faraday Medal

The  most prestigious of the IET Achievement medals is awarded either for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering or for conspicuous service rendered to the advancement of science, engineering and technology or for lifetime achievement in science, engineering or technology. The Award is made without restriction as regards nationality, country of residence or membership of the IET. Recipients of the award are chosen by  the IET Awards and Prizes Committee and are endorsed by the IET Knowledge Management Board. 


Mountbatten Medal

The Mountbatten Medal celebrates individuals who have made an significant contribution, over a period of time, to the promotion of either electronics or information technology and their application that benefits the UK. Contributions can be within the spheres of science, technology, industry or commerce and in the dissemination of the understanding of electronics and information technology, whether to young people, or adults.  Recipients of the award are chosen by  the IET Awards and Prizes Committee and are endorsed by the IET Knowledge Management Board. The Medal is awarded in partnership with the Royal Academy of Engineering (RAEng) and the British Computer Society (BCS).


IET Achievement Medals

The IET Achievement Medals are awarded to individuals who have made major and distinguished contributions in the various sectors of science, engineering and technology. The judging panel will look for outstanding and sustained excellence in one or more activities, for example, research and development, innovation, design, manufacturing, technical management, promotion of engineering and technology.  


Sir Henry Royce Award

Awarded to an outstanding young engineering/IT professional or industrial trainee who has excelled in the workplace within the last three years of their work in industry or for the profession.  He/she may have shown exceptional leadership in developing a project, outstanding individual effort as part of a team or have demonstrated technological excellence when undertaking an engineering project.  


Mike Sargeant Award

The Award is for a young engineering or IT professional who is judged to have made the most significant progress in their career over more than three years. For example, he/she may have shown exceptional leadership in developing a project, have contributed creatively when developing a new product or service, or have demonstrated exceptional commitment to engineering / technology through their academic or professional development.


Paul Fletcher Award

Awarded to an IET young professional volunteer for outstanding achievement in contributing to the activities of the IET.


Closing date for nominations for 2014 awards

30 May 2014,  17:00 (BST)

Winners are chosen by the IET Awards and Prizes Committee for presentation at the Achievement Awards ceremony. Winners are matched to awards by the committee, so only one nomination is required for a nominee to be considered for all appropriate awards.


Related links

  •  If you are interested in nominating someone, please see the Candidate Criteria Guidance (PDF) document before completing the nomination form.



2014 key dates


Deadline for Achievement Medal nominations:
30 May 2014, 17:00 (BST)


The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony:
19 November 2014, 13:00 (GMT)



Submit an Achievement Medal nomination

2014 Online nomination form


Related links

Candidate Criteria Guidance (PDF)



IET Achievement Medal leaflet (PDF)

IET Young Professional Achievement Medal leaflet (PDF)


See also

Previous winners