Achievement Ceremony Banner 2017

IET Awards - Sir Henry Royce Award

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Sir Henry Royce Award


This IET Award was established by the Sir Henry Royce Memorial Foundation and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (now IET) in 1990.   

The Medal is awarded to an outstanding young professional who has excelled in the workplace within the last three years. The nominee may have shown exceptional leadership in developing a project, outstanding individual  effort as part of a team or have demonstrated technological excellence when undertaking an engineering project.  See the Fact Sheet for background information on the Sir Henry Royce Award.



The Prize consists of a medal, a certificate and £250 cash - all provided by the Sir Henry Royce Memorial Foundation.  The Medal is presented at the IET Achievement Awards ceremony, which is held in London in November each year.     


Image of Henry Royce medal front   Image of Henry Royce medal reverse  


How to nominate

To make a nomination, please complete the online nomination form via the link on the right.  Nominators are required to upload the candidate’s Curriculum Vitae (CV) of no more than 2 pages or a link to a URL where the candidate’s professional profile is available.

We welcome nominations for women and men from around the world. You do not need to be an IET Member to nominate or be nominated.

Please note only one nomination is required per candidate and self-nominations will not be accepted.


Related links

If you are interested in nominating someone, please see the Candidate criteria guidance (PDF) document before completing the nomination form.


2016 winner

Image of Jamal Asad Madni   Mr Jamal Asad Madni, Boeing Network and Space Systems, USA. Jamal has been responsible for the design, development, and test of space vehicle navigation and control flight software in addition to leading $75M+ of imperative new business capture opportunities for the company. He has served as a subject matter expert, successfully authored over 100 technical software milestone reviews and created a software user manual to reduce new employee on-boarding time by 100 hours.

2015 winner

Image of Eur Ing Dr Matthew Cole MEng CEng MIET   The Sir Henry Royce Medal was awarded to Eur Ing Dr Matthew Cole MEng CEng MIET, Oppenheimer Research Fellow, Cambridge University, for his research on the application of nanomaterials and more recently on the application of carbon nanotubes for field electron emission for the production of novel X-ray sources. He was elected to a Junior Research Fellowship at St Edmunds College in Cambridge whilst still in the third year of his PhD and since then has become a full Fellow at St Edmund’s College, where he is now the Director of Studies in Engineering and Admissions Tutor.

2014 winner

Image of Christopher Spargo Mr Christopher Spargo BEng(Hons) MIET, PhD Research Engineer, Newcastle University.  Christopher has pursued a very successful PhD over this period, set up his own consultancy company and gained professional recognition. Christopher has demonstrated exceptional commitment and has been particularly active in promoting the engineering and technology professions, especially IET activities.  His prowess as a research engineer stems from his passion and enthusiasm for engineering and his desire to advance technology for the benefit of society.

2013 winner

Dr Yvonne Huebner MIET photo Dr Yvonne Hübner MIET, School of Civil Engineering and Geosciences, Newcastle University, UK, was awarded Medal for her skills in designing and delivering real-world transport research and technical demonstrator trials. Her ability to join, develop and maintain large-scale research consortia has placed her at the core of the management team for European collaborative projects on electric vehicles and cooperative systems.  She is a superb role model for young engineers and her passion and excitement for transport research are infectious. She is a lucid communicator, which helps her in both her roles as researcher and team leader.

See also

More information on previous winners


2017 Key dates


Nominations are now closed for 2017.


IET Achievement Awards:
15 November 2017, 13:00 (GMT)


Related links

Candidate criteria guidance (PDF)



IET Achievement Medals leaflet (PDF)

Sir Henry Royce Award fact sheet (PDF)

Sir Henry Royce biography (PDF)


Also see

Previous Winners