IET Awards and Scholarships are now open for applications and nominations

IET Awards - Mike Sargeant Award

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Mike Sargeant Award


After a long career in the electrical, electronic and control engineering industries, Mike Sargeant moved into teaching where his constant ambition was to inspire young men and women about the excitement and challenges of a life in engineering.  The fulfilment of his ambition continues through this award, established in his memory by his wife and son.

The Award is made annually to a young professional who is judged to have made the most significant achievement in their career for three years or more. The nominee may have shown exceptional leadership in developing a project, have contributed creatively when developing a new product or service, or have demonstrated exceptional commitment to engineering and/or technology through their academic or professional development.  See the Fact Sheet for background information on the Mike Sargeant Award.



The Prize consists of an engraved medal, a certificate and £500 cash.  The Medal is presented at the IET Achievement Awards ceremony, which is held in London in November each year.  


How to nominate

To make a nomination, please complete the online nomination form on the right.

We welcome nominations for women and men from around the world. You do not need to be an IET Member to make a nomination or be nominated.

Please note only one nomination is required per candidate and self-nominations will not be accepted.

2017 winners

Image of Ozak Esu   The IET Mike Sargeant Career Achievement Award for Young Professionals is awarded to Dr Ozak Esu BEng(Hons) MIET, Electrical Engineer at Cundall, for leading and contributing to the engineering design, installation, and efficient operation of twenty-nine national and international building design projects. Most recently, she contributed to the team design of Cannon House, a high-specification office for the Energy Systems Catapult, awarded the prestigious British Council for Offices Fit Out of Workplace Regional Award 2017 . She is also a volunteer maths tutor with The Access Project, improving pupil's GCSE grades, a Cundall-Arkwright Mentor, and Engineers Without Borders UK volunteer, supporting sustainable knowledge and resource sharing for international and global development. Outside of work, she undertakes collaborative research projects, participating in competitions such as the IET Young Professionals Global Challenge, the James Dyson Award, and the British Council for Offices NextGen Workplace Competition to design the office of 2035.
Image of Melanie Ooi   The IET Mike Sargeant Career Achievement Award for Young Professionals is awarded to Associate Professor Dr Melanie Ooi BEng(Hons) MEngSc PhD CEng FIET, Heriot-Watt University Malaysia Campus, for developing and implementing pioneering industry-linked educational programs in electronic testing technology in close collaboration with major electronics industries in the region. The impact of the program on students has been transformational, equipping engineering graduates with impactful knowledge and relevant professional skills, improving their qualification, job-readiness and employability while addressing needs of the semiconductor industry in qualified specialists. The youngest female Fellow elected by the IET, Dr Ooi is recognised as an innovative engineering educator, productive industry-focused researcher, academic leader, and generous professional institution contributor.

2016 winner

Image of Dr Xibo Yuan   Dr Xibo Yuan, Reader in Electrical Energy Conversion, University of Bristol for his outstanding research, industrial collaboration and project leadership. Dr Yuan became a Lecturer in 2011 and a Reader in 2016 through Promotion. He leads a research team of 13, has co-authored 70 publications including 23 IEEE/IET journal papers and has made significant contributions in ultra-high-efficiency and high-power-density power converters. He is Co-director of Safran-Bristol University Research Centre and has collaborated extensively with industry, delivering a 30kW aircraft power supply for a large navy ship.


2015 winner

Image of Jin-woo Han   Dr Jin-woo Han, Research Scientist NASA Ames Research Center, USA, for his work combining the unique properties of nanomaterials and nanoscience and the time-tested microfabrication techniques, thus delivering products in a quick time frame. He has developed flexible memory, transistor and sensors for electronic textile; gas/vapor sensors on cellulose paper; nanoscale vacuum tubes/transistors showing 450 GHz performance; novel radiation sensor using a nanogap transistor with a liquid gel replacing silicon dielectric.

See also 

More information on the previous winners

Key dates


Nominations close on 18 May 2018, 17:00 (BST).


IET Achievement Awards:
14 November 2018, 13:00 (GMT)

Submit an online nomination

2018 online submission form