Montage of photos showing previous award winners throughout the years.

IET Awards - Leslie H Paddle Scholarship

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Leslie H Paddle Scholarship


One award of £5,000 (tenable for a period of one year)

Intended for IET members carrying out doctoral research, which will further the art, science or practice of electronic engineering or radio engineering at a university within the UK.  The candidate must be in the first or second year of the research programme and currently resident in the United Kingdom.

The Leslie H Paddle Scholarship was established in 1979 under a bequest from Mr Leslie H Paddle to the Institution of Electronic and Radio Engineers (now in amalgamation with the Institution of Engineering and Technology).  Mr Paddle was a vice-president of the IERE.


2013 winner - Samantha Simons


Image of Samantha Simons

Thesis title:  Analysis of brain signals with advanced signal processing techniques to help in the diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease

Samantha graduated from the University of Surrey with a first MEng (Hons) degree in Medical Engineering and her PhD is also at the University of Surrey. In 2012, Samantha was awarded the IET’s Dennis Hill Award, which recognises outstanding work in the field of healthcare technologies.



2012 winner - Sean Maguire


Image of Sean Maguire Sean Maguire received the Leslie H Paddle Scholarship of £5,000. Sean started his Research at the University of Cambridge in October 2011 and is expected to complete this work in December 2014. His Thesis Title is “Fusion of Sensor Data for Novel Applications in Attitude Estimation and Performance Measurement in Manned and Unmanned Aircraft”.




Submit an application for an IET Postgraduate scholarship

Apply for an IET Postgraduate Scholarship

2015 key dates


Interviews (if short-listed):
3 June 2015 in London


The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony:
18 November 2015, 13:00 (GMT)


Regulations for the Leslie H Paddle Scholarship

Postgraduate Flyer 2015

Postgraduate Reference form 2015