Montage of photos showing previous award winners throughout the years.

IET Awards - Postgraduate scholarship

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

IET Postgraduate Scholarship


Two awards of £2,500 

To assist IET members in undertaking postgraduate research in the UK.

The IET Postgraduate Scholarships aim to encourage excellence in engineering research at universities in the United Kingdom.

These scholarships are financed from bequests given to the IET by the late Mr P S Hudswell (a former member of the IET) who left a substantial bequest to assist members with research, and the late Joseph William Beauchamp, who left a bequest to assist members with their education.

Two scholarships are available each year.  They are worth a maximum of £2,500 each and are tenable for one year.   


2013 winners

Image of Neil Vaughan

Neil Vaughan was awarded an IET Postgraduate Scholarship of £2,500, contributing towards his biomedical engineering PhD Studentship at Bournemouth University, which he started in 2010. His research with Poole Hospital NHS develops patient-specific medical simulations reproducing epidural needle insertion procedure.

Image of Min Zhang

Dr Min Zhang was awarded an IET Postgraduate Scholarship of £2,500.  She started her PhD in the Department of Engineering at University of Cambridge in 2010, as a Cambridge Overseas Trust Scholar.  Her thesis title is: High temperature superconductors and their application in electrical machines.”


2012 winners

Image of Christopher Spargo Christopher Spargo was awarded an IET Postgraduate Scholarship of £2,500. He started his PhD in Electrical Engineering at Newcastle University in October 2011 and is expected to complete this work in October 2014.  His Thesis Title is “Reluctance Machines for Traction Applications”.
Image of Jeannette Heilligers

Jeannette Heiligers was awarded an IET Postgraduate Scholarship of £2,500. She started her PhD in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Strathclyde in October 2009 and is in the final stages of completing her research.

Her Thesis Title is “Non-Keplerian orbits using hybrid propulsion for Earth applications."




Submit an application for an IET Postgraduate scholarship

Apply for an IET Postgraduate Scholarship


2015 key dates


Interviews (if short-listed):
3 June 2015 in London


The IET Achievement Awards Ceremony:
18 November 2015, 13:00 (GMT)



Regulations for the IET Postgraduate scholarship

Postgraduate Flyer 2015

Postgraduate Reference Form 2015