IET Awards and Scholarships are now open for applications and nominations

IET Awards - Winners

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Sir Henry Royce Award


The award was set up by the Sir Henry Royce Memorial Foundation (PDF) and the IEE (now IET) in 1990. The Sir Henry Royce Award is valued by the engineering and IT industry and, by winning this prestigious award, the winner will highlight their achievements to future employers.


2017 winners:

Image of Sean Gallagher   The IET Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals is awarded to Mr Sean Gallagher, BAE Systems. Sean is an exemplar engineer within BAE Systems. Winner of the Bee Beamont Award for his ground-breaking activities in additive manufacturing, Sean plays a leading role in the development and adoption of emerging disruptive technology applications for BAE Systems. Sean’s work is focused on qualifying additive manufacturing processes for airframe and tooling applications in both metallic and non-metallic processes. Sean’s work has been key in the adoption of additive technologies and BAE Systems now has flying components in production, ground equipment, tooling and protective equipment made by additive manufacturing in use across the Typhoon, Hawk and F-35 aircraft programmes.

Image of Nicholas Weeks   The IET Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals is awarded to Mr Nicholas Weeks CEng MIET, Chief of Material Engineering (Asia Pacific) at Rolls-Royce. With more than 10 years of experience in the company, he currently leads a team of over 50 staff, and manages an annual funding of USD 6mil. He has filed three patents and co-written three research papers. For the past three years, he has been pioneering numerous collaborations with research institutes, universities, and companies in South East Asia. Mr Weeks has truly excelled in his career as a Young Professional as well as inspiring other young people into engineering. He is a Committee member for the IET Singapore Network; through this he promotes STEM through many high-profile activities, including the Faraday Challenge and IET Chartered Engineers Forum. He also promotes IET membership among engineers.


2016 winner:

Image of Jamal Asad Madni   The Sir Henry Royce Medal was awarded to Jamal Asad Madni at Boeing Network and Space Systems, USA. Jamal has been responsible for the design, development, and test of space vehicle navigation and control flight software in addition to leading $75M+ of imperative new business capture opportunities for the company. He has served as a subject matter expert, successfully authored over 100 technical software milestone reviews and created a software user manual to reduce new employee on-boarding time by 100 hours.


2015 winner:

Image of Eur Ing Dr Matthew Cole MEng CEng MIET   The Sir Henry Royce Medal was awarded to Eur Ing Dr Matthew Cole MEng CEng MIET, Oppenheimer Research Fellow, Cambridge University, for his research on the application of nanomaterials and more recently on the application of carbon nanotubes for field electron emission for the production of novel X-ray sources. He was elected to a Junior Research Fellowship at St Edmunds College in Cambridge whilst still in the third year of his PhD and since then has become a full Fellow at St Edmund’s College, where he is now the Director of Studies in Engineering and Admissions Tutor.

Matthew was presented with his medal and certificate at the Sir Henry Royce Memorial Lecture in London on 1 December 2015.

Image of Henry Royce Presentation 2015  


Related links

Downloadable list of previous Young Professional Award winners (PDF: opens in new window)

View Sir Henry Royce's full biography in the IET Archives section


2018 Key dates


Achievement Medal Nominations:
18 May 2018, 17:00 (BST)


IET Achievement Awards:
14 November 2018, 13:00 (GMT)


Related links:

List of Young Professional recipients (PDF)