A F Harvey (promotional image)

20 March 2018 | IET London: Savoy Place




Selection process

The IET A F Harvey Engineering research prize search and selection committee searches for potential candidates from around the world for the prize, drawing on wide international networks.

The committee draws up a short-list of candidates from whom additional information is requested for further detailed consideration. Individual applications are not allowed.


Committee members include:

John O'Reilly (photo)  

Sir John O’Reilly

Sir John O’Reilly, visiting Professor at University College London and Chairman of the Science and Engineering Research Council (SERC) in Singapore, is the A F Harvey committee Chairman.

He has previously served as Director General of Knowledge and Innovation for UK government (2013-2015), Vice-Chancellor of Cranfield University (2006-2013) and Chief Executive of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (2001-2006).

Ronald Pethig (photo)  

Professor Ronald Pethig

Professor Ronald Pethig is Emeritus Professor of Bioelectronics at the School of Engineering, The University of Edinburgh. He currently serves as Editor-in-Chief of IET Nanobiotechnology, and as a member of The Scientific Advisory Board of the Institute for Life Sciences, University of Southampton.

He has enjoyed a long association with the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL), Woods Hole, Massachusetts, being elected a Corporation Member in 1982 and an Adjunct Senior Scientist in 2005.

Graham Davies (photo)  

Professor Graham Davies

Professor Graham Davies served as the Dean of Engineering at the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia until 2015. He trained as a chemical physicist at the University of Wales, where he completed his doctoral studies.

In 2009, he was named as one of the top 100 most influential scientists and engineers in Australia.

Trevor Grimshaw (photo)  

Mr Trevor Grimshaw 


Richard Kitney (photo)  

Professor Richard Kitney

Professor Kitney is Professor of Biomedical Systems Engineering; Chairman of the Institute of Systems and Synthetic Biology; and Co-Director and Co-Founder of the Imperial College Centre for Synthetic Biology and Innovation.

He Chaired The Royal Academy of Engineering Inquiry into Synthetic Biology and is a member of the Ministerial Leadership Council for Synthetic Biology.

Kitney is recognised as a leading research worker in the field of synthetic biology and, with Professor Paul Freemont, has been responsible for developing the Imperial College Hub for Synthetic Biology - now recognised as one of the leading international centres in the field.

Kitney has published over 300 papers in the fields of synthetic biology, mathematical modelling, biomedical information systems, and medical imaging and has worked extensively in and with industry.

Lim Poh (photo)  

Mr Lim Chuan Poh

Appointed as Deputy Chairman of A*STAR in November 2006, Mr Lim has been a Board Member of the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) since 2003 and the National Research Foundation since January 2006.

Internationally, Mr Lim is both a Director and Council Member of the Science and Technology in Society (STS) forum; and a Member of Japan’s World Premier International (WPI) Initiative Programme Assessment and Review Committee since 2007.

Professor Iven Mareels (photo)  

Professor Iven Mareels

Since July 2007, Iven Mareels has been Dean of the School of Engineering, the University of Melbourne. He is a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor at the University of Melbourne, holding the Chair of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Iven Mareels is a Fellow of The Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, Australia; The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (USA), and Engineers Australia.

Professor Jose Moura (photo)  

Professor Jose Moura

José M. F. Moura is the Philip L. and Marsha Dowd University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), Pittsburgh, PA. He received the Engenheiro Electrotécnico degree from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Lisbon, Portugal, and the M.Sc., Electrical Engineer, and D.Sc. Degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA.

Dr. Moura is member of the US National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors, corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of Portugal, Fellow of the IEEE, and Fellow of the AAAS.

Professor Carlos Salema (photo)  

Professor Carlos Salema

Carlos Salema is Professor Emeritus at Instituto Superior Técnico (IST) in Lisbon, and has been chairing the Institute of Telecommunications since 1993. He is an expert in wireless communications.

Professor Salema is also a member of various academies and organisations, such as the Engineering Academy, which he chaired for two terms of office, the Lisbon Academy of Sciences, the Portuguese Association of Engineers, the IEEE, and the Portuguese Association for the Development of Communications.

Bernard Weiss (photo)  

Professor Bernard Weiss

Professor Bernard Weiss is Chair of the International Advisory Board of the School of Information Science and Technology at Fudan University, China and is a member of the Advisory Board of the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Newcastle. He is an active Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the IET.

Professor Bernard Weiss is an IET Scholarships committee representative on the A F Harvey committee.

Other IET Awards