A F Harvey (promotional image)


The A F Harvey Research prize, worth £300,000, is named after Dr A F Harvey who bequeathed a generous sum of money to the IET for a trust fund to be set up in his name after his death which is for the furtherance of scientific research into the fields of medical, microwave, laser or radar engineering.


Professor Yang Hao from Queen Mary University of London was the fifth winner of the £300,000 IET A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize as a result of his outstanding contributions in the fields of microwave, antennas and in particular metamaterial antenna innovations. He presented his lecture titled ‘Antenna Engineering in the Era of Big Data’ at IET London: Savoy Place on 17 March 2016.


View his lecture.



The sixth winner of the prize will be announced shortly. Stay tuned for further news.

Stay tuned to find out who will be the sixth A F Harvey prize winner.

A wealth of prestigious names from medical, microwave, laser or radar engineering have been awarded the prize to further research in their field of study



Find out who

View the 2016 photos


Other IET Awards

Supporters and topic partners

E&T - Engineering and Technology Magazine (logo) IET.tv logo