The IET’s Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards 2016 - Inspire, Inform, Influence, Invited – Celebrate the women who will shape the future (Title image with photos showing the faces of four women engineers)

Headline sponsors

In association with

Supported by



Portrait of an engineer

The stereotype of an engineer is alive and well amongst school children, according to new research by the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

To dispel these engrained ideas of what a typical engineer ‘looks like’, the IET is celebrating the 40th Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards with a campaign to showcase engineering in a completely different light, dramatically highlighting the diverse career opportunities available in the industry through stunning and unexpected imagery.

The IET has commissioned Rankin Studios, renowned for photographing everyone from Kate Moss and Madonna to The Queen, to style and shoot this year’s award finalists as well as previous affiliates in a series of dramatic and thought provoking images. Dubbed ‘Portrait of an Engineer’, the series was shot by award-winning photographer and Rankin protégé Vicky Lawton.


Find out more about the engineers featured in this campaign.



Who's who?


2017 finalists - Young Women Engineer of the Year Awards:

  • Ellie Wilson, Instrumentation and Control Technician;
  • Jamie D'Ath, Mechanical Engineering Apprentice;
  • Larissa Suzuki, Chief Technology Officer;
  • Ozak Esu, Electrical Engineer;
  • Shaona Ghosh, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Machine Learning (AI);
    • Following the portrait series, Shaona has since begun a role as a Machine learning and Natural Language Processing (NLP) Scientist.
  • Sophie Caffrey, Electronic Engineering Apprentice.


Previous winners and affiliates for Young Women Engineer of the Year Awards:

  • Bethan Murray, Production Leader;
  • Mamta Singhal, Commercialisation Manager, Degree in Product Design Engineering;
  • Nadia Johnson, Software Engineer Apprentice;
  • Roma Agrawal, Structural Engineer and Associate Director;
  • Yewande Akinola, Design Engineer and Innovator.


Back to top

Other IET Awards