Finalists, winners and host of The IET’s Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards 2013 (photo)

Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards 2013

This prestigious award honours the very best early career female engineers working in the UK today

5 December 2013 | The Pullman Hotel, London St Pancras, UK

2013 headline sponsors




Contact us

Please direct all YWE enquiries to:


In association with


YWE 2013 winners and host (photo)

Over 400 guests joined us at a glittering Awards Ceremony in London on 5 December 2013.



Professor Alice Roberts revealed that Abbie Hutty, a Spacecraft Structures Engineer with Astrium in Stevenage, is the 2013 Young Woman Engineer of the Year.





Other winners on the night were Sara Underwood, a Higher Apprentice with Rolls Royce Plc in Lancashire who was awarded the Mary George Memorial Prize for an Outstanding Apprentice and Yasmin Ali, Operations Engineer with E.ON in London who was announced as the 2013 WES Prize winner.


The other finalists Victoria Martin from Expedition Engineering, Marie Adeyemi from Atkins and Sarah Turnbull from Rolls-Royce were also commended for their achievements so far.


In 2013 over 100 nominations were received for the YWE awards.


Find out more about the 2013 YWE winners.

Alice Roberts (photo)

Attendees joined us for a glittering celebratory evening to hear the announcement of the 2013 Young Woman Engineer of the Year Award winner.



View the photos from the ceremony.



Find out about the ceremony.

The YWE awards seek to highlight the achievements of women in engineering and to encourage others to enter the profession.

Find out more about the event.


Are you a previous winner? Where are you now?

Are you a previous winner - if so, please get in touch to tell us where you are now.

We would love to feature more case studies and insights in to what our previous winners are doing now and have done in the past to encourage the next generation of engineers.

If you would like to update us or get in touch please contact

See our full list of previous winners.

Other IET Awards

Supporting sponsor

Atkins (logo) EADS logo Rolls Royce logo