IET Awards - Diamond Jubilee Scholarships

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Useful links

The IET Great  Exhibition Scholarships by the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851


Scholarships offered in 2018

10 scholarships of £1,500 per year


Organisation type

Charitable Foundation


Organisation Name

The Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851






The Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 was appointed in 1850 with Prince Albert as President to organise the first world trade fair: The Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations, the ‘Great Exhibition’. In just sixteen months a site was chosen in Hyde Park, the iconic Crystal Palace (the largest covered structure on earth at that time) was designed, manufactured and erected and 100,000 exhibits assembled so that the Great Exhibition opened on time on 1 May 1851. It was visited by 6 million people and made a substantial profit so the Commission was established in perpetuity to manage these funds to extend the influence of art and science on productive industry.

Today the Commission awards Fellowships and Scholarships for advanced study and research in science, engineering, the built environment and design and supports other awards including IET Diamond Jubilee Scholarships and RAEng Enterprise Fellowships.


As a Diamond Jubilee Scholar funded by the organisation, what are the benefits/opportunities

Scholarship funding via the IET Diamond Jubilee Scholarship scheme of £1,500 per year for up to 4 years and all the additional benefits provided by the IET.

Year Three: Invitation to an event hosted by Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851.



2018 Key dates

Final deadline

23 August 2018, 17:00 (BST)


If short listed for Royal Commission of 1851 Scholarships:
October/November 2018


All applicants will be informed in December 2018.


Submit a Diamond Jubilee scholarship application:

2018 online submission form


Related links

About Diamond Jubilee Scholarships


See also

IET Academic Accreditation