IET Awards - Students

Awards, prizes and scholarships within engineering and technology

Other IET Awards

Useful links

IET Student Prizes


IET Technical Community Prizes

The IET's Technical Communities are driven by groups of volunteers who work or have expertise within the topic areas. They promote networking and the sharing and advancement of knowledge through various activities.


Healthcare Technologies

The IET Healthcare Technologies Network is keen to encourage and support the work and research of academics and newly qualified professionals in healthcare, medical and biomedical engineering areas. The network presents annual prizes through a number of awards.

Find out more about the Healthcare Technologies awards.


Control and Automation PhD Award

The IET's Control and Automation Network prize recognises significant achievements for PhD students conducting research in the area of Control Engineering.


IET Prize and IET Manufacturing Engineering Student Prize

The IET Prize and IET Manufacturing Engineering Student Prize are awarded annually to outstanding students who are undergoing or have completed a course of study which has been accredited by the IET.

Prize winners are nominated by each approved university on the basis of having shown distinction in a specified stage of a course leading to the award of a first degree. One nomination is available per IET accredited university.

The Prize consists of a certificate and two years free IET membership.

2018 IET Prize winners



Anglia Ruskin University MD Ariff Zulkifli
Aston University Benjamin Cartwright 
Bangor University Shammi Rahman
Brunel University Nima Mohammadi Meshky
Cardiff University James Leckey
City University London Timur Haliulin
De Montfort University Arif Rahman
Durham University Christopher Formby
Edinburgh Napier University Andrew Duncan
Glasgow Caledonian University Ross Ballantyne
Heriot-Watt University Ronnie Smith
Imperial College London Marco Selvatici
Kingston University Kaita Tsumura
Lancaster University William Brown
Lancaster University, Furness College Jack Morgan
Liverpool John Moores University Darren Berry
London Metropolitan University Luca Bonaschi
London South Bank University Khawaja Norman Tahir
Macau Polytechnic Institute JiaChen Zhong
Manchester Metropolitan University Jake Samuel Tucker
Northumbria University at Newcastle Scott Ian Atkinson
Newcastle University Joel Holland
Oxford Brookes University Ryan Henderson
Queen Mary, University of London Jayant Shivarajan
Queen's University Belfast Minh Nghia Nguyen
Robert Gordon University Darren Ellis
Sheffield Hallam University Haotian Tong
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava Mária Dragú┼łová
Solent University Southampton Matthew Callahan
Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology Kugathasan Janarthanan
Swansea University Vasileios Mourgelas
Teesside University Noran Ali
The Open University Nicholas Burns
The University of Edinburgh Lingjing Kong
Ulster University Michael Jennings
University College London Cheuk (Jessica) Ho
University of Bath Elizabeth Maclennan
University of Bedfordshire Delvin Roy
University of Birmingham Wen Wu
University of Bradford Muhammad Abdul Rahman
University of Brighton David Mtonga
University of Bristol Saad Ahmad
University of Cambridge Yue Kwang (Andrew) Foong
University of Central Lancashire Timothy Jordan
University of Dundee Dyllon Dodds
University of Essex Imani Morgan
University of Exeter Jordan Cutifani
University of Glasgow Lauren Russell
University of Greenwich Andrew Tyler
University of Hertfordshire Ronald Henderson
University of Huddersfield Philippa Hazell
University of Kent William Fuller
University of Leeds Ahmed Fauzy Bin Mohd Aris
University of Liverpool Yang Zhao
University of Manchester Nicolo Frisiani
University of Nottingham Benjamin White
University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus Boon Chun Wong
University of Nottingham Ningbo China Ke Shao
University of Oxford Ruxandra-Maria Constantin
University of Plymouth Daniel Swaine
University of Portsmouth Martin Mlejnek
University of Reading Kaelan Thijs Fouwels
University of Sheffield Utkarsh Singh
University of South Wales Hywel Evans
University of Strathclyde Kaitong Li
University of Sunderland Shannon Naylor
University of Surrey Valentinas Janeiko
University of Sussex Christabel Choi
University of Trinidad and Tobago Atma Persad
University of the Highlands and Islands Allan Kydd
University of the West of England Richard Clark
University of Warwick Laimonas Ruksnaitis
University of West Indies at St Augustine Quanley Marieatte
University of Westminster Alina-Irina Serban
University of York Scott Brown
Wrexham Glyndwr University Ruben James

2018 IET Manufacturing Engineering Student Prize winners



Loughborough University Robert Hartley
Sheffield Hallam University Matthew Thomson
Ulster University Gavin Corey
University of Bath Tessa Moxley
University of Brighton Lauren Wells
University of Cambridge Jenny Shepherd
University of Nottingham Matthew Mansfield
University of Plymouth Charles Atkins
University of Portsmouth Thomas Coates



Alternative Sources of Financial Assistance (PDF)

2018 IET Prize Winner Martin Mlejnek,  at his Award Ceremony

Image of Martin Mlejnek at Awards Ceremony  

2018 IET Manufacturing Prize Winner Thomas Coates, at his Award Ceremony

Image of Thomas Coates at Awards Ceremony  

Prize Winners 2018

2018 University of Portsmouth IET Prize and Manufacturing Prize Ceremony 2018