Find out who has won - banner 9

IET Achievement Awards Ceremony
Thursday 24 October 2019: IET London | Savoy Place

Other IET Awards

Useful links

Paul Fletcher Award


The Paul Fletcher Award Legacy was set up in the memory of Paul Thomas Fletcher (PDF) who wished to encourage the success of younger people in our profession. 

Awarded to an IET young professional volunteer for outstanding achievement in contributing to the activities of the IET. 

2018 winners: 

Darren Williams  

Paul Fletcher Award to Dr Darren Williams MEng (Hons) EngD CEng MIET, Welding Systems Team Manager at TWI Ltd. Darren's wide-ranging experience serving as a Community Resourcing Committee member and a Volunteer Engagement Board committee member, Past South Yorkshire Young Professionals Local Network Chair, and STEM ambassador, has enabled him to volunteer in various capacities. He is also an accredited mentor, which has given him the opportunity to mentor individuals around South Yorkshire, delivering motivational talks promoting engineering right at grass route level. From September 2015 to 2017 Darren led the start-up and development of the IET South Yorkshire Young Professionals committee, creating a sustainable circa 20+ member committee. The committee strengthened links across the two Sheffield Universities (The University of Sheffield, and Sheffield Hallam University) and regional industries, facilitating multiple events for YPs.

John Tan  

Paul Fletcher Award to Dr John Tan Teng Hwang BEng(Hons) MSc CEng MIET, Head of Department, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Technology and Built Environment, UCSI University, Malaysia. Dr Tan is currently leading a team of 14 young professionals in Malaysia overseeing 15 IET On Campus Groups (3 were formed in the past 8 months). Under his leadership, the Young Professionals Network Malaysia has grown strength to strength, in terms of number of events organised, recruitment of members, engagement with student members. He conducted the first IET Faraday Challenge in Malaysia and organized team building to link up Singapore and Brunei IET Young Professionals. In 2015 and 2017 he was the organising chair for Present Around The World in Malaysia.

2017 winners:

Image of Mark Goudie MEng MIET   The IET Paul Fletcher Award is awarded to Mr Mark Goudie MEng MIET, Electrical & Mechanical Engineer, Energy UK & Europe at Atkins. Mark has undertaken several industry-changing volunteering activities for the IET throughout his career to date, from supporting the launch of the Engineering Horizon's Bursary, to representing Atkins in the Power Academy scheme, to founding the IET On Campus Group at Strathclyde University. During this time, Mark has excelled at promoting the engineering profession with his dedication, leadership skills and commitment. Mark also took part in a panel session for the IET ‘Work Experience for All Campaign' championing practical work experience for engineering students. Many students have taken part in the campaign which has had a significant impact on the industry - helping inspire the next generation.
Image of James Mitchell   The IET Paul Fletcher Award is awarded to Mr James Mitchell BEng(Hons) MIET, Asset Program Coordinator – Infrastructure Asset Management, City of Onkaparinga South Australia. James has created a thriving young professional engineering community in South Australia by leading and inspiring young professionals to achieve. Since 2015 James has been Chairperson of the IET South Australia Young Professional Section (YPS) and has recruited and led the YPS revitalisation in South Australia, growing the committee from just two members to an active and sustainable committee of 15. James has led a team of new IET young professional volunteers delivering successful networking and knowledge sharing events, IET Lifeskills workshops, and the first South Australian IET Women in engineering night. He has established lasting relationships with the three major universities and created South Australia’s first On Campus group.




2019 Key date


IET Achievement Awards:
24 November 2019, 17:30 (GMT)


Related Link

List of previous Young Professional recipients (PDF)