Find out who has won - banner 9

IET Achievement Awards Ceremony
Thursday 24 October 2019: IET London | Savoy Place

Other IET Awards

Useful links

Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal


The Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in the manufacturing sector.

The highest recognition the IET can give in this field, the Medal is awarded to a person making an outstanding contribution to the advancement of manufacturing engineering technology or manufacturing management.

2016 winner: Tom Williams CBE

Image of Tom Williams CBE  

Tom Williams CBE is Chief Operating Officer at Airbus.  Having started work as an engineering apprentice, Mr Williams has worked across a range of high profile manufacturing industries. He is responsible for overall operations of Airbus, one of the world's largest manufacturing engineering companies, building the huge A380 and the new generation A350XWB with its advanced carbon fibre construction. His in-depth understanding of the challenges and opportunities faced by the industry helps him fulfil his commitment to invest in manufacturing. He is a trusted figurehead for this generation of engineers and an inspiration for the next.


2014 winner:  Gavin Campbell BSc CEng FIMechE FIAE

Image of Gavin Campbell

Gavin Campbell joined Short Brothers plc after graduating with a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Ulster in 1985.  He studied in Europe for a time and was assigned to Bombardier Aerospace in Montreal from 1997 to 1999 as Director of Engineering.

Gavin is currently responsible for Engineering and Technology Development at Bombardier in Belfast.  He is a member of MATRIX, the Northern Ireland Science-Industry panel, and was a contributor to the MATRIX Horizon panels on Advanced Engineering and Advanced Materials.  

Other roles include chairing and participating in a number of technology panels and boards in aeronautics, advanced engineering and high value manufacturing in the UK, Ireland and Europe.  Gavin chairs the Technology Working Group of the Aerospace Growth Partnership, and also heads up the group within that tasked with defining the structure of the new Aerospace Technology Institute, which is joint-funded by Government and industry.

Gavin is a visiting Professor in the Faculty of Computing and Engineering at the University of Ulster, a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, a Fellow of the Irish Academy of Engineering and Chairman of the Management Board of the Northern Ireland Advanced Composites and Engineering Centre (NIACE).  He is a member of the STEM Business Sub-Group (NI), and is himself an active STEM Ambassador.


2013 winner: Nigel Whitehead FREng FRAeS 

  Nigel Whitehead photo

Mr Nigel Whitehead, BAE Systems Group Managing Director of Programmes & Support, UK, is responsible for some of the UK’s largest engineering, manufacturing and support services projects. Sustained success leading major defence and security projects in the UK, Sweden and Australia mark him out as one of the most outstanding engineers of his generation.  Amongst much other public service, Nigel is a Commissioner for the UK Commission for Employment and Skills, leading a priority action to improve the UK’s vocational skills, particularly apprenticeships.

Mr Whitehead was presented with his Medal at the 2014 Viscount Nuffield / Mensforth Lecture on 27 March 2014 at the University of Strathclyde.


2011 winner: Dr Ralf Speth

  Ralf Speth photo

Dr Ralf Speth, CEO of Jaguar Land Rover, was successful in turning the company round within a few years. Dr Speth gave the IET's 2012 Viscount Nuffield Lecture.


2019 Key date


IET Achievement Awards:
24 November 2019, 17:30 (GMT)