Achievement Ceremony Banner 2018

Submissions are closed for 2018

Other IET Awards

Useful links

Mountbatten Medal


The Mountbatten Medal celebrates individuals who have made an outstanding contribution, over a period of time, to the promotion of electronics or information technology and their application. Contributions can be within the spheres of science, technology, industry or commerce and in the dissemination of the understanding of electronics and information technology, whether to young people, or adults.


2017 winner: Professor Shuji Nakamura, Nobel Laureate in Physics, Professor in the Department of Materials at the University of California, Santa Barbara

Image of Shuji Nakamura   The Mountbatten Medal is awarded to Professor Shuji Nakamura, Nobel Laureate in Physics, member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), National Academy of Inventors (NAI), and National Inventor’s Hall of Fame (NIHF), Millennium Technology Prize Recipient, The Cree Chair in Solid State Lighting & Displays and Professor in the Department of Materials at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Professor Nakamura pioneered the development of blue LEDs and lasers using novel InGaN growth processes, enabling the commercialization high-efficiency low-power white light sources, reducing the world's carbon footprint. Professor Nakamura’s inventions have been recognized worldwide for their innovation and commercial impact.
Professor Nakamura received the Nobel Prize for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes, which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources.


2016 winner: Professor Jean Armstrong BSc MSc PhD FIEEE FIEAust MIET, Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering, Monash University Australia

Image of Professor Jean Armstrong BSc MSc PhD FIEEE FIEAust MIET  


Quote by Dr Timothy Constandinou, Chairman, IET Awards and Prizes Committee

“Professor Armstrong’s research has had a major influence on both optical and wireless communications and has led to many very highly cited papers and commercialised patents. As an educator, she has been an innovative adopter of new technologies and has led major curriculum reforms at three universities. She has worked to encourage young women and remove the barriers that she herself encountered; her research and contributions to women in engineering have led to both national and international awards.”

Professor Armstrong was presented with her Medal by the Hon. Timothy Knatchbull, grandson of The Earl Mounbatten of Burma at the 2017 IET Mountbatten  Lecture on Tuesday, 21 March 2017. View images below.


2015 winner: Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSE FIEAust

Image of Alan Finkel  

Dr Alan Finkel AM PhD FTSE FIEASUT FIEEE, Chancellor of Monash University and President of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, whose revolutionary measurement techniques and tools helped to shape experimental neuroscience and speed up drug research. Founder and leader of world-class companies Axon and OptiScan who manufacture precision scientific instruments for medicine and pharmacy, founder and Chairman of Cosmos Magazine, CEO of Australian secondary school science education initiative, establisher of Australian Course in Advanced Neuroscience, Alan Finkel represents a rare combination of outstanding technical leader, entrepreneur, highly successful scientist and research engineer, dedicated supporter of education and philanthropist.

Dr Finkel was presented with his Medal by Naomi Climer, IET President at the 2016 Appleton Lecture. View images below.


Images from 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017 Mountbatten Memorial and 2016 Appleton Lectures and the 2017 IET Achievement Awards Ceremony

2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017 Mountbatten Memorial and 2016 Appleton Lectures and 2017 IET Achievement Awards Ceremony

2018 Key date


IET Achievement Awards:
14 November 2018, 13:00 (BST)

Related links

All previous IET Mountbatten Medal winners


Professor Shuji Nakamara and IET President, Nick Winser CBE FREng BSc CEng FIET Prof Nakamura with Nick Winser CBE, IET President