Find out who has won - banner 9

IET Achievement Awards Ceremony
Thursday 24 October 2019: IET London | Savoy Place

Other IET Awards

Useful links

J J Thomson Medal for Electronics


The J J Thomson Medal was inaugurated in 1976.  It was set up by the Electronics Divisional Board of the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).

The J J Thomson Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in electronics.

2018 winner:

Nigel Allinson   J J Thomson Medal for Electronics to Professor Nigel Allinson MBE BEng MSc DSc CEng FIET. Professor Allinson holds the Distinguished Chair of Image Engineering at University of Lincoln. He led the team that developed PRaVDA, the first fully solid-state proton CT system to allow adaptive and optimum treatment of cancer using proton beam therapy. PRaVDA has been called 'perhaps the most complex medical imaging instrument ever conceived.' The next instrument will be the first to be installed in an operational clinical centre. In addition, his work has made a significant impact in policing; his work on transmission of fingerprints from crime scenes to bureaus is used by UK Police, reducing time-to-indent from days to minutes.


2017 winner: 

Image of Mau Chung Frank Chang   The J J Thomson Medal for Electronics is awarded to Professor Mau-Chung Frank Chang, President of the National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan. He is also the Wintek Distinguished Chair Professor in Electrical Engineering, UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science. Professor Chang realized MOCVD GaAs HBTs and CMOS Systems-on-Chip for RF-to-Terahertz radio, radar, imaging and interconnect applications. His research created new methodologies to design and fabricate reliable semiconductor heterojunction devices and new algorithms to sense/transmit/receive data with unprecedented bandwidth and resolution. He is a proven leader who has substantially shaped modern high-speed electronics. His work has influenced the design and production of modern day mobile phones. In 2016, more than 2.5 billion mobile-phones were shipped with GaAs-HBT amplifiers to fulfill required transmission linearity and efficiency.



2019 Key date


IET Achievement Awards:
24 November 2019, 17:30 (GMT)