Find out who has won - banner 9

IET Achievement Awards Ceremony
Thursday 24 October 2019: IET London | Savoy Place

Other IET Awards

Useful links

IET Volunteer Medal


The Achievement Medal for major and outstanding contributions voluntarily given to furthering the aims of the IET was awarded for the first time in 2015. This award recognises the importance of volunteers to the IET in its mission to inspire, inform and influence the global engineering community.

The winner of the 2019 IET Volunteer Medal will be revealed at the IET Achievement Awards Ceremony on 24 October 2019.

You can read about this year's shortlist below.


2019 Volunteer Medal Shortlist

Virginia Hodge  


Virginia Hodge CEng FIET for her leadership of the IET Volunteer Support Working Party.

Whilst serving her first term on the Board of Trustees, Virginia helped make significant changes to volunteer engagement and support at the IET through her involvement with the Volunteer Support Working Party. During her second term on the Board of Trustees she became the first Chair of the Volunteer Engagement Board and has been instrumental in creating a vibrant and effective Board that works exceptionally well and is well respected by members and staff. Her style is very inclusive and promotes excellence through thorough debate and examination of topics. She is passionate about the IET and its aims and is an incredible ambassador for the organisation.

Paul Meenan  


Paul Meenan CEng FIET FCMI MIAM MILP PCQI for his continuous work to drive and support the professional recognition of electricians working in a safety critical role.

Paul is a Volunteer Professional Registration Advisor, a Continuous Professional Development Reviewer, an Engineering Technician Assessor, and a Professional Registration Interviewer, as well as the founder of the e5 group. Paul has become the face of the EngTech Elec for the IET and has travelled far and wide assisting the IET to promote professional registration of electricians and electrical technicians and IET membership to give them professional recognition and illustrate a commitment to their profession.

Colin Morwood  


Colin Morwood OAM BE CEng FIEAust FIET for his outstanding dedication to the IET Queensland Local Network Committee.

Spanning more than 40 years on the Committe, Colin served nine years as Chairman, 23 years as Secretary, seven years as Treasurer, several years as Membership Officer and was also an overseas representative of Council.

His main emphasis at all times was on good administration and good relationships with the committee, members at large, kindred associations, the general public and the wider IEE/IET community including staff.



2019 Key date


IET Achievement Awards:
24 November 2019, 17:30 (GMT)


Related links

List of Volunteer Medal winners