The IET’s Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards 2016 - Inspire, Inform, Influence, Invited – Celebrate the women who will shape the future

Headline sponsors

In association with

Year of Engineering



Are you a previous winner? Where are you now?


Are you a previous winner - if so, please get in touch to tell us where you are now and what you're up to.

Useful links

2017 winners

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) recognised three exceptional young women engineers at its Young Woman Engineer (YWE) Awards Ceremony on 7 December 2017.


The Young Woman Engineer of the Year Award Winner
Dr Ozak Esu

Dr Ozak Esu is an Electrical Engineer at Cundall, a multi-disciplinary engineering consultancy. Working within Building Services, she undertakes surveys of existing buildings, and engineers co-ordinated electrical services for new build, refurbishment and fit-out projects.

Ozak completed her PhD in 2016 at Loughborough University in Wind Energy and Advanced Signal Processing whilst working as a Graduate Engineer at Cundall. She continues to involve herself in academia, taking on guest speaking and lecturing roles in different universities.

Read full biography


The WES Prize Winner
Dr Larissa Suzuki

Dr Larissa Suzuki is a passionate computer scientist, inventor and engineer. She holds a PhD in Computer Science, an MPhil in Electrical Engineering and a BSc in Computer Science.

Her professional career includes over 10 years advancing fields of computer science and engineering, including work on smart cities, data infrastructures, emerging technology, and computing applied to medicine.

Read full biography


The Mary George Memorial Prize for Apprentices
Jamie D’Ath

Jamie recently entered the fourth year of her apprenticeship at MBDA, a leading missile and missile systems company.

Rotating around the business on placements, Jamie has been involved in a wide range of activities – from completing complex drawings for parts and assemblies, to analysing procurement statistics, to conducting trials.

Read full biography


Finalists were Ellie Wilson (SemLogistics), Dr Shaona Ghosh (Apple Inc.) and Sophie Caffrey (Leonardo MW).

Carol Vorderman and Dr Ozak Esu, YWE Award winner 2017   Carol Vorderman and Dr Larissa Suzuki, The WES Prize Winner 2017   Carol Vorderman and Jamie D'Ath, The Mary George Memorial Prize for Apprentices winner 2017  

Other IET Awards